Wednesday, November 30, 2011

One Step Out of the Comfort Zone

So, it's nothing major to most of you, but it's a big thing for me. I talk about playing my guitar all the time, and I really do play almost everyday, but rarely does my guitar leave my bedroom. However, on Saturday I took it out to choir practice and learned the song they were singing, and on Sunday I played it. In church. During service. While people were there. And they could hear me.

It was only one song that only had two chords, but it was probably the most I've done outside my room. People said I did a good job. I'm kinda proud of myself. I've never felt like I was good enough to play alongside the gifted musicians that have been ever present in almost every church I've attended (and, really, I'm still not), but that weekend showed me that the saying is right: There's nothing to it but to do it. I didn't need to know every chord in existence or be a master at shredding through scales and arpeggios. All I had to do was get out of my room and use what skill I had.

Does this mean I'll become more bold about everything in my life? Not at all. But it does mean that a door has been opened. I slid my toe across the threshold and there's a good chance I'm gonna step right on through it.

50 points for reading this. Then 1000 points because I feel a little bit better about myself. 500 more just because.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Friday, October 28, 2011

Trying to Not Disappoint the Parentals

My mother wants me to finish school. She says she believes I can do it. She's not lying, and she's not wrong. She really does believe it, and it is true that I can. Somehow, though, I keep asking myself if I really want to. On most days the answer is no, but then I ask myself a question my father would ask me.
"Well, what do you want to do then?"

And as much as my father would hate to hear it, the answer is


That's his least favorite response from anyone, and for good reason. That phrase is just a set up for making excuses instead of trying find a legitimate answer (or even fabricating a bogus one for expedience). That phrase is also why I'm typing this somewhere on Coastal Carolina's campus. I just really don't know what else to do besides trudge down the prescribed path into the generally accepted image of success (or at least somewhere in the middle of it; never the best, never the worst), so I'm still in school because I don't know where else to go and what else to do. Home is always an option but I get the feeling my "Welcome" will wear out long before I'd want it to. I'm stuck, becuase I have no brilliant ideas of how to obtain that coveted unconventional success, achieving the highest of highs by straying from the beaten path.

Truth is, I don't dare leap before I look. At least not yet, because I happen to know that the beaten path is beaten for a reason: IT WORKS. Sure, the road less traveled can lead to the most sought after treasures, but it is a laborious path with no promise that it won't lead to a deep dark pit of poverty that very few manage to escape. The lure of that treasure does not trump my fear of the depths of that pit, therefore, I remain on the regular road everybody else has been traveling.

I thought I had a point somewhere in here...

Passing thought came up that I could do this blog thing. People have and are definitely making a living from it (how extravagant or modest a living that is, I'm unsure) but the problem there, is that I'd have to convince people that my opinion is worth reading and that I'm someone worth giving a damn about. And right now, for all intents and purposes, I am no one important. I still don't know what to do.

What I do know is that I want something that I'm not getting here in college, and no amount of tuition paid, no GPA earned in bogus and irrelevant classes, no hope for a piece of paper with my name and major penned across it in calligraphy is getting me any closer to getting what I want, except maybe showing me an accolade that I do not really care to attain. I want to go make some irrational decisions in hopes of getting positive results, but once again, I'm not really the one to take such a blind leap.

I'm just tired of the uncertainty.

No points for anyone. You get where I want to go and you can have all the points you could ever imagine.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Thursday, October 13, 2011

My Guitaring Skills

So, I haven't blogged or posted a new youtube video in a while. I thought I'd just half-do both. Shortshit blog and no new videos, but a playlist of my old ones. If you watch it in order it goes from me completely sucking to me sucking less. Still a lot of progress to be made, but at least I'm doing something.

Friday, September 16, 2011

Crude Oil Talent

As I was sitting in math class today, letting my mind wander, I came to the thought I absolutely must take guitar lessons within the next twelve months. This came after the realization that I have reached a plateau in my guitaring technique, and subsequently my creativity has come to a halt. While I don't understand the math I was supposed to be learning because of all this daydreaming, I now better understand the honing and use of natural talent.

Natural talent, the things that you are proficient at with no significant instruction, is like crude oil. Crude oil is what they draw straight out of the ground. At that stage it definitely has value (probably a bit more than it should, but the logic behind that is over my head). The value, though, is not based on what the crude oil is at that point, rather, it is valued for what it can become. Once it is processed and separated and refined we start to see it in it's practical uses; waxes, lubricants, various grades of fuel, and whatever the heck else they use it for. In the same manner, natural talent needs to be refined. You take what talent you have, filter out the sloppy habit, put guidelines on the things you do right, reinforce your knowledge when need, and add in some new skills. It's time to take my talent from crude oil to jet fuel (or at least regular unleaded gasoline).

50 points for reading it. 100 points if your talent has been refined, 75 if it's in the process. Subtract all of your points to zero if you have no desire to better yourself.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Summer List: 2011 Revisited

Soooo, about all that stuff I was supposed to do.......

Some of it got done, most of it didn't. To deflect the blame from myself, I would like to say that there was a certain lack of friend involvement, whether you were busy, too far away, tired, lazy, flaky, etc., you just weren't there. Most these things I imagined including my friends in some way or another and would not have enjoyed doing them alone, therefore, I did not do them. However, I am aware that the responsibility of making my summer fun and enjoyable ultimately rested solely on me, so all ye flakes doth be pardoned for thy flakyness.
Here's the list with the things I accomplished crossed off and with explanations (in italics) about changes that were made because even the things I did do were not done verbatim per this list.

1. Have a summer fling (or not, don't know what made me think of this one)
2. Build endurance to be able to run 2 miles at a time
3. Do 1000 sit ups and pushups (actually about 150 of each, but that's enough)
4. Buy a pair of Air Force 1's
5. Get a goldfish (I got a betta fish. Close enough)
6. Catch a 10lbs catfish (8 fish at 1.5 to 3lbs each is greater than one 10lbs fish)
7. Start a band
8. Get back to 280
9. Get a new acoustic guitar
10. Go to a club
11. Do some inland skimboarding
12. Learn the guitar solo to "Before I Let Go" by Frankie Beverly and Maze
13. Make some money playing guitar
14. Begin writing and production of "A Minute of Your Time" (idea I have for a youtube channel)
15. Screen print a few t-shirts
16. Take at least 2 guitar lessons
17. Work on my idea for a Dorito pie recipe
18. Play my guitar at church one or more Sundays
19. Finish of another pen (if the first one is done)
20. Meet/talk to somebody famous
21. Go to a concert
22. Volunteer at a soup kitchen, or the like
23. Sell my acoustic electric guitar and Blues for Dummies book.
24. Ghost ride the whip, with friends
25. Spontaneously ask a girl out (this being a girl I do not already know. Sorry ladies.)
26. Pay a household bill (looking for some man points for this one) (Gas in cars. Not cheap)
27. Create and develop my personal style, since I currently have none.
28. Read a large potion of the Bible (I read all of Genesis. Not large, but a start)
29. Figure out how to graduate as quickly as my attention span will allow
30. Learn to drive a manual transmission car
31. Convince my parents get/give me a car, or go halfsies or whatever
32. Get rid of all the clothes that I don't wear
33. Finish my "Meltdown" project. (6 part visual art, with a poem to go with it. alread started, just needs to be finished.)
34. Practice grilling
35. Get my electric guitar set up for heavier gauge strings
36. Practice my slingshot skills (I pulled it out once or twice, but I'm better for it)
37. Develop a good sleep pattern (over the summer? worth a try)
38. Have a water and/or Nerf war
39. Pick a club to join at school
40. Single handedly prepare a room for my sister and her child (or not so single-handedly)
41. Number 40, except with the help of my cousin Brian
42. Figure out how to get rid of the extra roommate I will have at school next semester.
43. Fire and maybe s'mores (both, cuz I'm a boss)
44. Travel to Mauldin, by myself, and stay as long as I am welcome and want to stay, instead of leaving when others need to go
45. Actually use my Back-pocket Book of Bad Pickup Lines
As you can see, I didn't accomplish much, but it's more than I would have done without the list so I am entitled to at least a little sense of achievement.
50 points for reading and 300 points if you did more than I did with your summer, and had friends to do it with.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Getting Your Money's Worth?

I am one of four children (three sisters--I'm the only boy). The other day I had a conversation with my youngest sister about which child gets the most stuff from our parents. It's not the first time we've had the discussion and likely will not be the last. Generally, it comes out looking like I get the most stuff and I get it because I am the only boy. And I can't really argue otherwise.

It's not that I actually get more stuff (at least I'm pretty sure I don't), and definitely not because I'm the only boy, it's just that they can site more specific examples of the big-ticket items I have received and also the circumstances surrounding me getting these things. This ultimately leads to an argument over the issue of favoritism and whether or not I deserved what I got.

By the simplest logic the answer is no because all a person really needs is food, water, shelter, love, and anything else is just gravy. But my unworthiness goes a little further, because I made deals with my father to obtain several things, and several times I did not meet the conditions, yet I still got what I asked for. My sister have yet to see that they receive the same treatment. I have pondered the reasons behind why I got so much, and while I've gotten no closer to proving that I am not the subject of favoritism, I thought "Why just accept these things as gifts? You father obviously felt that you deserved these things, so how about you prove him right."

It would be interesting to get my money's worth out of all the expensive things I got over the years. I don't mean just use the heck out of the stuff until it's worthless, I mean trying to use those things to gain the actually dollar amount (at least the things with obvious money-earning applications. everything else I'd just have to use the crap out of). I think that would be the best way to prove that I was worthy of my gifts and to show my appreciation. I haven't yet, but maybe we should all try that. Trying to prove you deserve what you get by putting it to it's best use. GENIUS!! As far as that argument over favorites goes, if they believe it's me then that's their fault.

50 points for reading. And just because I get stuff I don't deserve, you also receive +300 even though you haven't really earned it.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Monday, July 25, 2011

Slow and Steady Does NOT Win the Race

Remember the story of the tortoise (hereby referred to as turtle) and the hare(hereby referred to as rabbit)? You know, the rabbit and the turtle decide to race. The rabbit is so sure he's gonna win. The rabbit was winning. The rabbit takes a nap. The rabbit doesn't win, and the story ends with the proverb "slow and steady wins the race." Generally, the story is told with a bit more flourish, but I wrote it that way to highlight my point, which is that we look to the wrong character for the lesson in this story.

Be real with yourself. Logically, in a race of speed, the speedier racer will win. That's how it was designed and that's how it works in real life. The saying at the end of the story implies the opposite, that the turtle won the race by his own doing, and that one will win in life by being slow and steady. This is not at all the case.

The real moral of the story is, "Finish what you start and don't be a dummy." Really, the rabbit probably could have won the race and took another lap before the tortoise even got half way down the track. The ONLY reason the turtle won is because the rabbit stopped running. Of course the rabbit was cocky/foolish enough to believe that he could stop, take a nap, and still win (and overestimating your skills/underestimating your opposition is another lesson), but if he'd had the tenacity, or at least the intelligence, to just go ahead and finish the race then the tortoise wouldn't have even come close to winning.

So take that as the real lesson. Don't set out to be the slow turtle in the story, just strive to not be as stupid as the rabbit was and you'll be fine. You can skip being slow (though, I would recommend you take the advice about steadiness; it's good to be consistent), so long as you finish what you start. Do be fast, though, because slow and steady does NOT win the race.

Points: The usual for reading the whole thing. +10 for agreeing with me. Just to see who reads these, total your existence points so far and report that number to me and you can have 200 more.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Sunday, July 17, 2011

The Fun Begins

I had two or three blogs pre-written. This is not one of them. Those other ones are not appropriate for me to post at this time, because when I post them I don't want them to immediately bite me in the butt (though they will indubitably cause repercussion, no matter when I post them).

Anyways, this one starts with a post to Facebook yesterday, and I quote,
"Next week, I refuse to sit at home all day, not a single day. I will enjoy myself, even if I have to clean out my bank account to do it." 
That's a pretty bold statement for a man with no job, who basically slept his way through most of June and has hung out with maybe 6 friends since getting home in May for summer break. Very bold indeed. But then all of those circumstances are exactly the inspiration for this vow. I mean, think of yourself in that situation. You've had two stupid-boring months pretty much nothing. Sure there's that one time you purposely had fun, and those few other times that you accidentally enjoyed yourself, but otherwise it's been nothing but house chores or sleep (and, in general, more of the sleep). Surely putting yourself in that frame of thought makes you understand that drastic measures had to be taken.

So, the "drastic measures" are ludicrous yet very simple. I'm taking what relatively little money I have earned/saved and I'm putting it on the line to have some fun. Being slightly less than financially responsible is the ideal situation here. My goal isn't to spend it all, or any of it for that matter, but not let it be as much of a limiting factor as it usually would be. I will try to have as much fun as I can for free, but if I can't get any free fun, I'll pay for discount fun, and if I can't get discount fun I'll buy it at regular price, and if they're sold out of that I'll find some other ways to entertain myself. Just that plain. I WILL enjoy myself.

I now realize I might regret it after the fact, when I've had my "fun" but I'm left with no money. Don't care. I'm doing it anyways. Phase 1: "Suspicious Movement of Funds" has already begun. As of tomorrow afternoon, my money should be ready to spend. And that's it.

50 points for reading, as usual. +100 if I invite you and you join me on my "Go for broke" adventure.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Monday, July 11, 2011

Black Planking and Slavery

I see where you draw the connection. I understand how you could be offended. I am aware of how it could be misunderstood, and that is what I believe has happened. Simply put, the meaning you draw from it, however logical, is not the intended meaning, and you are wrong to be offended.

I know, I know. The slaves on the ship and the one-on-top-of-the-other and the bodily fluids and disease and the death and all of that laying face down on planks of wood with the arms to the side. I know. I understand. You're still wrong.

Look at it this way. Say we're sitting directly across a table from each other. I draw a five-pointed star on a piece of paper with the point to the top from my view. From your view the point is to the bottom, so it is an inverted pentagram, a sign of Satanism. You may perceive it as me drawing a Satanist symbol, but I intended it as just a (half-assed) drawing of a star.
Or say I scratch the side of my face with my middle finger and you happen to be standing on that side. Am I flicking you off or simply taming an itch?

The point is, sometimes you really can take things for face value. You get pissed off for your teachers adding non-existant symbolism to books, and here you are doing in real life. Everything DOES NOT have deeper meaning. Some things truly are just what they are and nothing more. The "planking" epidemic has nothing to do with slaves stacked up on a slave ship (or, at least, it didn't, until you took it there). Planking was not offensive until you said it was, and that gives everyone else the opportunity to use that against us.

Another thing, as black people, it's time to let the slavery thing go. I can state as a fact that anyone my age or within 10 years of that age is AT LEAST three(3) generations removed from slavery, and probably a few more than that. For some of you, even your great-grandmother isn't old enough to have known anyone who was an actual slave. The black race has come leaps and bounds from that point, and could be a hop, skip, and a jump further than that if we would quit looking back at it all the time. The white man took off the physical chains, then we locked ourselves up in the memories. I'm not saying that we should forget our history, in fact it's vital that we remember, but it's about time we take a dose of GETTHEFUCKOVERIT, accept that it happened, understand that it's over, and let history stay where it belongs: in the past.

ALL THAT SAID, I WILL BE DOING SOME PLANKING AND I WILL ENJOY MYSELF DOING IT, BECAUSE I AM NOT BOUND TO THE PAST OF MY PEOPLE, NOR AM I CONFINED TO YOUR "ONCE-WAS-A-SLAVE" MINDSET.

Points: 50 for reading. -100 if you believe the planking=slavery thing. +50 if you are ready to move on and +200 if you go planking.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Happiness Math (Not Simple, but Doable)

I must start off by saying that I made a "C" in algebra, and the teacher was lenient on a few tests, so my math skills are questionable.


So we'll start here: Money cannot buy you Happiness.
We'll illustrate this as Money ≠ Happiness

Then we'll go here: Time is Money
We'll illustrate this as Time = Money

Now use the transitive property (or whatever the hell property it is that makes this make sense) and you find that because Money ≠ Happiness, then also Time ≠ Happiness.

Therefore, just as happiness cannot be obtained through a purchase, it also won't come if you're just sitting there waiting on it. You see the math. If you want your happiness you have to go get it, not wait for Father Time to wrap it up for you and deliver it to your doorstep.
And that's about it.

+50 points for reading, even though it's short. +100 for understanding the math. -40 for knowing the correct property (because, if you know it, you're a nerd, and nerds deserve points off).

JOSH, THE SHERM

Monday, June 20, 2011

Sooo...... About that "Revelation".........

Yeah. See. You may have noticed that I obviously lack the focus to blog on a coherent theme. So, while I will do some writing on living, in reality the bulk of my content will be based on initially-random-then-further-thought-out thoughts.

You don't get points for short-shit blogs.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Never Say Never (Except When You Do Say Never)

First, I must say that I am not a Justin Bieber fan, have not seen his docu-concert-movie-thingy, and generally despise his level of fame, however, I do find him to be a slightly-more-talented-than-me individual.

Anyway, I had a little thought on his movie-thingy. Someone told me it was sort of inspirational, like a success story or something. At first I laughed at the idea of this. How could this boy's story be AT ALL inspirational? He wasn't one of the people who came up from nothing. He was from the suburbs of Canada, and got picked up from YouTube (which means he could afford a camera and had internet access), singing, drumming (could afford a drum set), and playing guitar (could afford a guitar). I mean sure, I don't know what was sacrificed for him to get those things, or if he wasn't just borrowing everything, but that sends a signal to me that he was far from struggling.

But then I had to think again. In actuality, this is a success story; specifically, for people like me. Let me explain. When you hear about the world's biggest successes, these people generally start at one of two places. They either were from nowhere and had nothing, or were from somewhere-you-wish-you-could-live and had Ben Franklins falling out of their assholes. Rarely do you hear about middle-class people, the ones from just-outside-of-that-big-important-city and had just-enough-to-be-regular, go from the middle to becoming top dog. As a young member of the middle-class, one is left to wonder whether or not you can achieve any more than being the mediocrity of society. But then, here comes Justin Bieber, boy from suburbia, one of the "regular" people, basically the face of the world of musical entertainment today. Suddenly there is hope that you and I can escape the forgotten middle class, and make it to the upper crust, no longer forced to represent the middle 50% of the population. It is possible for us to be the idols instead of the idol worshipers. That, and quarter won't buy you a pack of gum at Wal*Mart, but for some, it's all the inspiration they need.

The usual points for reading, but -20 if you're a "Beleiber," cuz that's just lame.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Thursday, June 9, 2011

So, Let's Look at What Didn't Happen

I want to be angry. I want to point my finger, place blame anywhere and everywhere I can. But it's too early in the game for that and, really, I have to accept that it's my fault. I asked people to spend their time and money to discuss mere possibilities, things that didn't even seem likely to happen. My fault. I didn't consider anyone else's needs in that particular situation. Even so, there were a lot of things that could have gone right.

People were supposed to respond promptly to my messages. People were supposed to show up. We were supposed enjoy a pizza buffet lunch. We were supposed to discuss the following things: a band name, where to practice, personal schedules of availability, how to arrange a gig/show, whether we would be a cover band or do mostly originals, and how we would promote our band. Ultimately, we were supposed to get to know each other, have fun, and leave feeling like we would have a good time together for the rest of the summer. That didn't happen. I'm not giving up, so we'll try again (maybe next time we'll go somewhere free), but one should at least be able to find out all the progress  held up by failing to communicate.

No points today. No one earned them. Not even for reading this.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Girls Gone Natural!!!

A lot of black girls are doing it. They're calling it quits with the permanating and weaves and tracks and whatever else formerly went into to doing their hair. They're taking a bold step into having and caring for natural hair. As I hear it, it's supposed be better for their health and somehow empowering and confidence building. Personally, I have no problem with it. I like it just fine, and don't generally find natural hair any more or less attractive than processed hair. However, I think with your new hair and confidence should come some new rules. Just two actually, and for good reasons. I am a man and as such my opinion should not (and probably does not) matter to you, however, I am an American with a laptop and Internet access so I will state it and post it for the world to see anyways.

Rule #1- You got to let your man touch it.
It's pretty simple. For as long as I've lived that's been a huge no-no for black women. Smack on the booty? No big deal. Grab a breast from time to time? Well, a little booby never hurt nobody. But touch the hair? You are asking for the harshest of slaps and a good tongue lashing to go with it. But, up until your switch to natural hair, you've had an excuse. Your hair used to represent a large investment of time and money. And the things you were doing to your hair meant that it could very well fall out at anytime (or so I was led to believe). O!, the countless dollars earned, borrowed, and stolen only to be spent on your difficult, ethnic follicles.
But, my dears, this is no longer the case. To my knowledge, natural hair is significantly less costly (time- and money-wise) to deal with. And, you now have strong roots with no chemicals threatening to leave your scalp bald and shiny. The least you can do is let a brother feel in it a little bit. Natural hair is probably as new to him as it is to you. Let him experience a long with you.

Rule #2-You must accept that people have opinions
On more than one occasion I have been yelled at for calling someone's hair nappy. They were slightly offended by this, and they insisted that I didn't know anything about natural hair and that "natural" and "nappy" were synonyms in reference to black hair. I happen to disagree. I've seen natural done right, and I've seen natural done wrong. If someone tells you your hair looks jacked up, they're not just saying that because they've become so accustomed to permed hair. They're saying that because on a scale of 1-10 your hair is hittin on about a 2 as far as attractiveness goes. You cannot automatically assume the people who criticize your hair are simply ignorant or that their opinion is of no value. While it may be true that they don't understand natural hair, it doesn't change the fact you look like hobo/crazy cat-lady. Accept this, improve yourself, and move the fuck on.

And that's the rules of natural hair, from a guy who's been fussed at way too much. +50 existence points for reading to the end. +50 if you have natural hair. -40 if you won't let a brother (or sister, mother, father, uncle, cousin, anybody) touch it.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Sunday, May 29, 2011

Things are starting to look good!

Only one call for an interview so far. I was kinda looking forward to having a job this summer. But that's just fine, because as of right now, it looks like the band thing is gonna work out. I'm actually very happy about this. It makes me feel cool to say "I'm in a band," but even better to say, "and I started it." I might be counting my chickens before they hatch (we haven't even met as a band yet), but the outlook is good. There's still a lot of things to work out before we can even practice (seeing as, we have no practice space), but I have some ideas brewing and the rest of the band should be able to come together to reach a solution. Push comes to shove, we ask for help from some of the other local bands that know what they're doing. I have a plan to get a sponsorship and a gig while simultaneously bringing business to the local mall. And if everything works out, this could be a beautiful summer.

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Summer List: 2011 Edition

So, as a general rule, I make a list of things to do over the summer. Generally only 10% of things actually get done, and even then, only with half an effort. But what I have found is that when there is no summer list (ie, 2010), I end up wasting the summer sleeping. So here the list is, in no particular order except the order that I thought of it. Certain things I plan to do have been omitted from the list, because I assume those things WILL happen. This is a list ranging from "not likely" to "plausible".


1. Have a summer fling (or not, don't know what made me think of this one)
2. Build endurance to be able to run 2 miles at a time
3. Do 1000 sit ups and pushups
4. Buy a pair of Air Force 1's
5. Get a goldfish
6. Catch a 10lbs catfish
7. Start a band
8. Get back to 280
9. Get a new acoustic guitar
10. Go to a club
11. Do some inland skimboarding
12. Learn the guitar solo to "Before I Let Go" by Frankie Beverly and Maze
13. Make some money playing guitar
14. Begin writing and production of "A Minute of Your Time" (idea I have for a youtube channel)
15. Screen print a few t-shirts
16. Take at least 2 guitar lessons
17. Work on my idea for a Dorito pie recipe
18. Play my guitar at church one or more Sundays
19. Finish of another pen (if the first one is done)
20. Meet/talk to somebody famous
21. Go to a concert
22. Volunteer at a soup kitchen, or the like
23. Sell my acoustic electric guitar and Blues for Dummies book.
24. Ghost ride the whip, with friends
25. Spontaneously ask a girl out (this being a girl I do not already know. Sorry ladies.)
26. Pay a household bill (looking for some man points for this one)
27. Create and develop my personal style, since I currently have none.
28. Read a large potion of the Bible
29. Figure out how to graduate as quickly as my attention span will allow
30. Learn to drive a manual transmission car
31. Convince my parents get/give me a car, or go halfsies or whatever
32. Get rid of all the clothes that I don't wear
33. Finish my "Meltdown" project. (6 part visual art, with a poem to go with it. alread started, just needs to be finished.)
34. Practice grilling
35. Get my electric guitar set up for heavier gauge strings
36. Practice my slingshot skills
37. Develop a good sleep pattern (over the summer? worth a try)
38. Have a water and/or Nerf war
39. Pick a club to join at school
40. Single handedly prepare a room for my sister and her child
41. Number 40, except with the help of my cousin Brian
42. Figure out how to get rid of the extra roommate I will have at school next semester.
43. Fire and maybe s'mores
44. Travel to Mauldin, by myself, and stay as long as I am welcome and want to stay, instead of leaving when others need to go
45. Actually use my Back-pocket Book of Bad Pickup Lines

Existence points: +50 for reading, +10 for enjoying, +100 for joining in. And I'm over that whole sister-fight, so those you with vaginas can have your 20 points back.

JOSH, THE SHERM

A Revelation from Captain Obvious

Remember in that first blog where I said I considered a themed blog? Well I just came up with a theme, and when it hit me, I felt about three different types of stupid. The thought, "Instead of whining and complaining, why don't you blog about living?" I mean really, that obvious. It's in the title.

So I'm going to blog about living, not really delving into that philosophical question about what living really is, just doing what I call living and writing about it. For me "living" is going to be working on completing my summer list, something I have never fully achieved (or even come close to), but this year's list is slightly more realistic, so we'll see how that goes.

I thing the main two things I'll be focusing on this summer are getting a job and start/operating a band, both of which are starting to look more and more difficult, but that's complain. I digress. I've got a whole list of things that I actually intend to do, and by golly, something on that list is gonna get done. (I'll put the list in the next post.)

Existence points: +50 for reading the whole thing, +40 if you read it without a link on Facebook, +10 if you feel like you'll enjoy seeing where this goes, and a bonus +200 if you give a comment on this, or the two preceding entries.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Daggum Sisters

     My sisters irritate me to no end. It's almost like they have no joy in life if I'm not miserable. And it's not just one, it's three of them, and they operate in a trio when it comes to pissing me off. They're like Lay's chips, can't fight just one, which doesn't even make sense, seeing as they're fighting each other all the time. Clearly they are not true allies, they just chose me as a common enemy.
     Yesterday I got pretty upset. Actually that's an understatement. I was damn near murderous. The reason why I was so mad was kinda ridiculous, and, honestly I'm disappointed in myself a little because I never thought I was one of those people that couldn't take what I dished, but something just snapped yesterday and I couldn't deal with it. The three of them made me the butt of their joke, is what happened. I voiced my opinion, and they laughed in my face for it. I'm pretty sure I've done the same thing to them plenty of times and it's the same thing but it just felt like it was different, mostly because I was the victim.
     Then again, it was different because several factors. First, I don't go about it they way that they do. I never just tell them that their opinion is wrong or pointless, I explain to them why it is wrong or pointless--in an embarrassing fashion, of course, but at least they get an explanation as to why I disagree. Also, I do it with a lot less laughing, or if I do laugh, I set it up so that I'm laughing with them, not at them. Second, I never have a team to back me up on it. That's something they save especially for me. Whether one of them is right or wrong, the other two will back her up whole-heartedly and I can't get a word in edgewise.
     What made it particularly maddening was that, this time, my mother was in on it too, daring to take their side when I solicited her support. I admit, it was my fault for bringing her into the conversation, but that was the only way I had a chance of my sisters believing they were wrong, because a man can never be right alone, he has to have a woman's seal of approval. But Lo!, and behold, my mother says exactly what they said. I went about ape shit at that point, and my mother had the audacity to ask me why I was so upset. I was so insulted by the situation that I just got up and left.
     I'm still kinda perturbed about the whole thing, and I don't really see the situation any different by writing this, but oh well, it's writ' now.

As for existence points, -20 for having a vagina because if you do, you're part of the problem. + 50 for reading the whole thing, and +30 for at least acknowledging the possibility that I could be right.

JOSH, THE SHERM

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Take note: this is the first post!

     Soooo...... I'm blogging again.  I did it when Myspace was cool, but I fell off when I got to Facebook, sorta half doing it with notes.  I'm moving in over here, though, to blog on Facebook no more.  I considered the idea of a themed blog, where I have a specific purpose and I blog about one thing that I do on a regular basis. Alas, I don't do any one thing on a regular enough basis to dedicate a blog to it, so I'll just type whatever I think is important enough to post.  But this lack of a consistent theme brings me to a point.
     I am a "jack of all trades and master of none." The only thing I've mastered so far in my life is half-assing. I can half-ass like a champ.  Start a new project? I'm down for that. Join a team? Yes, I will, thank you. Come to a meeting for this club? Sure thing.  The problem is never the beginning. Starting is easy enough. It's the follow through that I'm missing. I've never been so naturally gifted at something that I was an all-star right off the bat, and I've never driven myself to achieve any pinnacle of greatness. I put in that initial effort, just that tiny push that it takes to get going, maybe throw in a little extra work so I don't look like a slacker, and then I just ride that out.
     Clearly this is my fault. I haven't payed the price to be on top. I haven't put in the required work. Still, you would think by now that I would have found my "thing" and been diligently working to hone that skill. The fact of the matter is, I would if I could. I've had hint and suggestion and clue galore about what my thing is but nothing seems fulfilling to me. For example, I love music, I even play a few instruments, but music theory confounds me and I am limited to what I can do with what little understanding I have. I have a real knack for finding out things I want to know, but when it comes down to it, I can only do it effectively when it suits my fancy (I can do research all day, but have wet to write a research paper without breaking something in the process). Writing is another thing. Everyone seems to be so impressed with my writing. They see the finished product and they are pleased with what they see. What they don't get to witness is me flipping shit trying to come up with a topic, then having to flip shit again when I realize my stance on the topic is worthless, invalid, wrong, common, unrelated, incomprehensible, or for any other reason not worth writing about. Writing is another one of those things that I can only do well when it amuses me to do so.
     Case and point, I have yet to find the thing that I am good at and enjoy doing. Until I find that thing I guess I'll keep trying new things and complaining about what I'm not good at.
     Also, I'm going back to awarding existence points. You get 50 for reading the whole blog, +20 for agreeing with me, +50 more if you are in the same non-specializing situation.

JOSH, THE SHERM