Sunday, July 17, 2011

The Fun Begins

I had two or three blogs pre-written. This is not one of them. Those other ones are not appropriate for me to post at this time, because when I post them I don't want them to immediately bite me in the butt (though they will indubitably cause repercussion, no matter when I post them).

Anyways, this one starts with a post to Facebook yesterday, and I quote,
"Next week, I refuse to sit at home all day, not a single day. I will enjoy myself, even if I have to clean out my bank account to do it." 
That's a pretty bold statement for a man with no job, who basically slept his way through most of June and has hung out with maybe 6 friends since getting home in May for summer break. Very bold indeed. But then all of those circumstances are exactly the inspiration for this vow. I mean, think of yourself in that situation. You've had two stupid-boring months pretty much nothing. Sure there's that one time you purposely had fun, and those few other times that you accidentally enjoyed yourself, but otherwise it's been nothing but house chores or sleep (and, in general, more of the sleep). Surely putting yourself in that frame of thought makes you understand that drastic measures had to be taken.

So, the "drastic measures" are ludicrous yet very simple. I'm taking what relatively little money I have earned/saved and I'm putting it on the line to have some fun. Being slightly less than financially responsible is the ideal situation here. My goal isn't to spend it all, or any of it for that matter, but not let it be as much of a limiting factor as it usually would be. I will try to have as much fun as I can for free, but if I can't get any free fun, I'll pay for discount fun, and if I can't get discount fun I'll buy it at regular price, and if they're sold out of that I'll find some other ways to entertain myself. Just that plain. I WILL enjoy myself.

I now realize I might regret it after the fact, when I've had my "fun" but I'm left with no money. Don't care. I'm doing it anyways. Phase 1: "Suspicious Movement of Funds" has already begun. As of tomorrow afternoon, my money should be ready to spend. And that's it.

50 points for reading, as usual. +100 if I invite you and you join me on my "Go for broke" adventure.

JOSH, THE SHERM

No comments:

Post a Comment