Or should I say, rerecorded - as it stands, I do have two tracks already recorded that I had deemed acceptable for the EP, and a third in progress. The dilemma I've run into, however, is that I can't decided where to draw the line for what is "good enough". I'm no Hendrix on guitar and my vocals leave very much to be desired. I understand the value of improving my skills in these areas, but my trademark willingness to half-ass any project is what gave me the courage to start down the path of recording this project in the first place. Hell, it even inspired the title I have in mind for it.
That title (which I will keep under wraps for the time being) is actually part of the problem. I really like it, and believe it would be the perfect title had I recorded the songs before coming up with it. As a stamp after the fact, it would have been an acceptably descriptive title. Here, before the recordings have been done, the title seems like another shitty half-ass attempt at aspirations that I'm prone to. I don't know whether I should live up to those aspirations for consistency, or exceed them for shock value.
As I listen back to my recordings, another problem arises. I begin to notice how unpolished and unprofessional they sound, and consequently, exactly how unprepared I was to engage in the recording process. I can't tell whether it's better to multi-track or do one-shot recordings. I can't seem to place the mic in the right spot to balance the guitar and vocals. I could benefit from minor tweaks to my set up, but I don't know if I should or not.
Ultimately, what will happen is I'm gonna Nike this somnabitch and just do it. I'll make decisions on solving (or not solving) problems as they arise. Hopefully the end product will be something people can enjoy and not be a piece of crap.
The usual 50 for the usual reason. +100 on the hope that I finish. +200 on the hope that I finish and it's good.
JOSH, THE SHERM